Deo Akope 1IHV8v MooChat Plus

Akope elected as Uganda Professional Golfers Association chairman

Deo Akope was elected as president of Uganda Professionals Golfers Association (UPGA).

The elective assembly took place at the Uganda Golf Club (UGC) in Kampala city.

Akope, three time champion of the Uganda Amateur open and twice winner of the professional section beat Davis Kato to the top seat.

Deo Akope

Davis Kato

He tallied 27 votes to Kato’s 20, with Kato taking the vice’s seat.

Emma Ogwang is captain and will be deputized by Abby Bagalana.

The Hon. Secretary is former Uganda Ladies Golf Union president Eva Magala.

Magala recently joined the professional ranks after an illustrious career in the ladies’ amateur section, joining two other ladies in the professional ranks; Flavia Namakula and Irene Nakalembe.

Martin Ochaya is the hononary treasurer.

Emma Ogwang is captain of UPGA

Abbey Bagalana, Vice Captain UPGA

Eva Magala, Hon. Secretary of UPGA Credit: John Batanudde

Martin Ochaya, UPGA Hon. Treasurer Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Kiryowa “K.K” Kiwanuka, UPGA Board chairman Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

Innocent Kihika, UPGA Board Member

Board of Directors:

The UPGA board of directors has former Uganda Golf Union (UGU) president Kiryowa Kiwanuka as the board chairman.

The board secretary is Hon. Dickinson Kateshumbwa while Innocent Kihika is member.

Ranking aloft the agenda for Akope in this tenure is seeking for sponsors to put in place a domestic tour for the professional golfers.

“I am working on a local tour for our professionals. Having regular competitions will keep the professionals actively engaged active, and in business” Akope stated.

The Uganda Professional Open is arguably the biggest domestic tournament that Uganda’s professional golfers are engaged in.

Related!  Our Guide to the 2024 Nile Special Rugby Men’s Championship Playoffs

There are limited tournaments were the professionals are involved and this is one key address that Akope and the rest of the executive committee members shall consider as a top priority.

UPGA Executive Committee:

Chairman: Deo Akope

Vice Chairman: Davis Kato

Captain: Emma Ogwang

Vice Captain: Abby Bagalana

Hon. Secretary: Eva Magala

Hon. Treasurer: Martin Ochaya

Board of Directors:

Chairman: Kiryowa Kiwanuka

Secretary: Hon. Dickinson Kateshumbwa

Member: Innocent Kihika

The post Akope elected as Uganda Professional Golfers Association chairman appeared first on Kawowo Sports.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Need Help?
WP Radio
WP Radio
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x