Pepsi University Football League 2023-2024:

Final: Uganda Christian University 1-3 Nkumba University

For the first time ever in the history of the University Football League (UFL), Nkumba University, tagged as the “Beach Boys” smiled on the podium as champions.

This happened on a sunny Saturday of 20th April 2024 at the MTN Arena Lugogo in Kampala city as the curtains for the 11th edition were majestically brought down.

With numerical advantage for long spells of the game, Nkumba University defeated a 10-man Uganda Christian University (UCU) 3-1, thanks to goals from Kennedy Ssebadduka, Ismeal Lubega and Isaac Musuga.

Sharif Ssewanyana found the consolation for UCU in the final stanza of the game.

Nkumba University players celebrate one of their three goals against UCU at the MTN Omondi stadium, Lugogo

As early as the 11th minute, Nkumba University was ahead, thanks to Ssebaduka’s opener.

Ten minutes later, UCU goalkeeper John Collins Wesonga was sent for an early shower for handling the ball off South Sudan born forward Irivia Mamur outside the goal area.

UCU technical docket made a quick forced change with David Elton Mwidu coming on for the sacrifical lamb, Ivan Mutebi.

It was baptism of fire for Mwidu after Nkumba University left back Lubega curled home the resultant free-kick from the foul committed.

2-0 the scoreline read after 25 minutes as Dr Sulaiman Bbosa’s coached side commanded the game.

The brilliant day for Nkumba University continued when Musuga converted in the 36th minute to make it 3-0.

By this stage, it was done and dusted. Nkumba University had three goals, the numerical advantage and possessed the ball calmly.

Related!  USAID Provides $11 Million to WFP’s Refugee Response in Uganda

Nkumba University team captain John Kennedy Ssewankambo lifts the UFL trophy

There were wild celebrations on and off the astro-turf of MTN Omondi stadium before the players were decorated with the gold medals and the team captain John Kennedy Ssewankambo lifted the coveted trophy amid deafening cheers.

Ssewanyana’s brilliant free kick three minutes into the second half pulled back a goal for UCU in the second half to give the scoreline a worthy respectable second look.

Dr Bbosa attributed the victory to good preparations, belief and collective teamwork.

“Nkumba University deserved the title. The preparations were spot on. They were very good. We had the hope that we would do it and the players worked collectively to make it happen” remarked an excited Dr. Bbosa.

Nkumba University in action against UCU during the final

Nkumba University played in their second final since 2016 when they fell to Kampala University at Mandela National Stadium.

The 11th edition golden boot was won by Uganda Martyr’s University (UMU) player Akbar Ssentongo who finished with 9 goals to his name.

Nkumba University players in a prayer session prior to the limbering session

Arrival of players at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo

Celebrations moments after the final between Nkumba University and UCU at Lugogo

Nkumba University players and officials celebrate on the podium after winning the 2023-2024 University Football League trophy | Credit: Jackson Kayiira

Nkumba University players celebrate one of their three goals against UCU at the MTN Omondi stadium, Lugogo

Ismael Lubega celebrates after curling home a free-kick

Team Line Ups:

Related!  Leaders Police fall on the road to Blacks Power, Mbale Heroes record home win | 2023-2024 betPawa Big League

UCU XI:John Collins Wesonga (GK), Marvin Wambuga, Godfrey Arijole, Allan Opio, Sharif Ssewanyana, Patrick Ogola, Ivan Mutebi, Peter Kyomuhendo, Geoffrey Gagganga (Captain), Harry Abiti, Isaac Ofoyrwoth

Subs: David Elton Mwidu (GK), Solomon Maiso, Jonathan Alor, Karim Busobozi, Derrick Tenywa, Abel Peter Obula, Douglas Higaye

Head coach: Jimmy Kintu Mwere

Nkumba University XI: John Andrew Obwana (GK), Lukman Kalule, Ismeal Lubega, Isaac Musuga, Aaron Kikoyo, Ishaque Balyawo, Joel Nsubuga, Henry Mukasa, John Kennedy Ssewankambo (Captain), Irivia Mamur, Kennedy Ssebadduka

Subs: Sam Okiring (GK), Reagan Opio, Iddi Nabil, Kassim Kizza, Saad Mukiibi, Abbey Kavuma, Brian Kiyimba

Head coach: Dr. Bbosa Sulaiman 

University Football League winners since Inception

2012: Makerere University

2013: Kampala University

2014: Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2015: Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2016: Kampala University

2017: Uganda Martyrs University (UMU) 

2018: Kyambogo University

2019: Uganda Christian University (UCU) 

2020: Not Held because of COVID-19 Pandemic

2021: Not Held because of COVID-19 Pandemic

2022: Uganda Martyrs University (UMU) 

2023-2024: Nkumba University

The post How Nkumba humbled UCU to break the jinx enroute clinching first ever University Football League title appeared first on Kawowo Sports.

0 0 votes
Article Rating